Daddy’s Day

Sige na, let’s celebrate Father’s Day. After all, moms don’t have a monopoly on the job of raising kids (though I get the impression that I have the monopoly on poopy diapers :P). Dads share in the pains and hardships of a mom’s pregnancy, too. My husband was very patient with me all throughout my pregnancy, even when I became hormonal, unreasonable, irritable, demanding and cried at the drop of a hat. He looked after my and our unborn baby’s welfare to the extent that he can, given his very demanding job. He helped in (almost) all aspects of taking care of our newborn especially during his paternity leave, and did not sleep like me, hehehe. He also supported my decision to quit my better-paying law office job for a lesser-paying but more mommy-suited one in government, when I couldn’t take the long hours anymore. And once in a while, even if he had to get up early the next day, he’d get our baby to go back to sleep when our little one wakes in the middle of the night.

My own dad used to say that Father’s Day (and Mother’s Day, too, for that matter) is just an “invention” of malls so they can get people to buy gifts and eat out.🙂 That may be true to some extent, but for me, it wouldn’t hurt to show appreciation once in a while for our parents who have done so much for us and who expect nothing in return, save for us to grow up well.

Happy Father’s Day, Dads!!!

Leave a Reply

